Posted on

What to do with this skirt steak?

So, I had a beautiful skirt steak in the freezer, just begging to be thrown on the grill and enjoyed with some nice, warm tortillas and toppings.  But, this weather.  Rain, rain and more rain.  I couldn’t get the husband to grill in the rain.  Something about melting?  I kept telling him s!#@ runs, but he argued he’s sugar.  Yeah, right!

Anyway, I was searching for something new to do with it since I’d be cooking it inside.  Stumped, I started searching the cupboards.

This is the beginning of the concoction:

Frozen skirt steak at the bottom.  Yes, I said frozen.  Most meat I put into the crock pot starts out frozen because I’ve found it stays moister and more flavorful that way.  
Then a can of each: Rotel, Corn, Black Beans
And the seasonings!  Must not forget the seasonings.  Cumin, chili powder, garlic, onion and paprika.
Set the crock on high for 4 hours and let it go!
After the 4 hours, I pulled the skirt steak out and cut it up.  I cut with the grain, as it will naturally pull itself apart easily.  Then, I cut the strips in smaller, more manageable pieces if you were to eat it with a small utensil and tossed it back in.  I added a can of refried beans, to thicken it up some, and stirred until it was all incorporated.  
On the side, I cooked up some brown rice.  I grabbed the tortilla chips, sour cream, cheese and hot sauce.  
Dinner is served!  Surprisingly good!

About misscryssi

Welcome! I'm Cryssi. Designer, techie and mom of four children, grandmother to one beautiful little girl and one handsome grandson! I work outside the home and raise this wild brood in Iowa. I’m extraordinarily multi-talented. I can fix a car then head to the kitchen to make you the most delicious meal you've ever tasted! I'm supportive, honest, bold and outgoing.

Leave a Reply

